The Steering Committee

We call ourselves the “Steering Committee” because we could not find a better name. In reality, LeadNet is “self-steered” and in many ways, it is what its members choose it to be. The current committee wishes to continue the “all for one, one for all” spirit which fosters a closely-knit community of junior research leaders of the Max Planck Society. In the next symposium on May 28-29, 2020 we would like to discuss any improvements that can be made to our organizational structure. We, therefore, encourage members to attend the “Future of LeadNet” welcome address.

We organize the LeadNet meetings on a voluntary basis and are therefore constantly looking for new members to play an active role in LeadNet. There are many ways to contribute besides being part of the committee, for example, you can initiate and coordinate a workshop.

In case you are interested in contributing to LeadNet, please contact the current members of the committee listed below.

Steering Committee Members

Johannes Rebelein | BMS

Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology

Organizer 2022

Frank Ohme | CPTS

Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics

Organizer 2022

LeadNet is now powered by the Max Planck Digital Library

LeadNet has teamed up with the Max Planck Digital Library (MPDL) to coordinate and provide all services required for organizing the LeadNet symposium. This includes creating and updating the website, processing registration, providing administrative support with the conference venue, managing the operational budget, and promoting LeadNet through better communication between the different institutes. The idea behind this new form of cooperation between LeadNet and the MPDL is, that it allows the current and future steering committees to focus on the thematic and program aspects of the symposium.

Our main partner at the MPDL is Una Sokcevic.

We are very grateful to Matias Hernandez and Gunda Wößner for their support during this transition period in the organization of LeadNet. We would also like to thank Katharina Miller-Meyer from the MPG general administration for her support.

Former Organizers between 2012 and 2016

Sebastian Leidel (MPI-MB, BMS)
Main organizer of the LeadNet meeting 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Eva Troelenberg (KHI, Florence)
Co-organizer of the LeadNet meeting 2016

Hauke Werner (MPI-EM, BMS)
Co-organizer of the LeadNet meeting 2016

Sabine Carl (MPI-CC, GSHS)
Co-organizer of the LeadNet meeting 2016

Gabriele Bixel (MPI-MB, BMS)
Main organizer of the LeadNet meeting 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Harun Tueysuez (MPI-KOFO, CPTS)
Co-organizer of the LeadNet meeting 2014, 2016

Matias Hernandez (MPI-B, BMS)
Co-Organizer of the LeadNet meeting 2016

Bianca Habermann (MPI-B, BMS)
Organizer of the LeadNet meeting 2012, co-organizer LeadNet meeting 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Former Organizers between 2010 and 2011

Mario Albrecht (MPI-I, CPTS)
Initiator of LeadNet and organizer of the LeadNet meetings 2010 and 2011

Nicole Dubilier (MPI-MM, BMS)

Ana Garcia-Saez (MPI-IS, CPTS)

Ali Kinkhabwala (MPI-MP, BMS)

Matthias Stein (MPI-DCS, CPTS)

Matthias Munk (MPI-KYB, BMS)

Gabriele Lohmann (MPI-CBS, BMS)